American PhDs On Foodstamps

Discuss culture, living, traveling, relocating, dating or anything related to North America. For those looking to relocate within the US or Canada, discuss your experiences and pros/cons of each domestic region.
Taco
Elite Upper Class Poster

Post by Taco »

Nows a good time to drop out of college.

http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2013-01-0 ... foodstamps
OutWest
Veteran Poster

Re: American PhDs On Foodstamps

Post by OutWest »

Taco wrote:Nows a good time to drop out of college.

So she has a PHD in feminist art and now she is unemployed? There are a ton of people out there getting stupid degrees...would be interesting to see the breakdown by discipline.

outwest
xiongmao
Veteran Poster

Post by xiongmao »

I have a science PhD. Jobs were hard to come by in my field, so I rolled up my sleeves and taught myself programming.

Well that was a smart move, as I now have enough money to go and live in Asia for years :)
I was Happier Abroad for a while but Covid killed that off.
Fed up with being foreveralone.jpg? Check out my comprehensive directory of dating sites.
Love Chinese girls? Read my complete guide to Chinese dating.
publicduende
Elite Upper Class Poster

Post by publicduende »

xiongmao wrote:I have a science PhD. Jobs were hard to come by in my field, so I rolled up my sleeves and taught myself programming.

Well that was a smart move, as I now have enough money to go and live in Asia for years :)
After my first Masters (in networks and Internet communications, which was all the fuzz back 12 years ago) I had somebody offering me an EPSRC scholarship for a PhD in the same field, and I declined. With hindsight, that's one of the best thing I have ever done in my life. The only reason to embark in a PhD is to pay your dues to your supervisor and, in selected and lucky cases, have him help you starting a career in the academia.
odbo
Veteran Poster

Post by odbo »