Customs and immigration trippers.

Post your trip reports, travel experiences, and updates abroad. Or your expat story if you already live overseas. Note: To post photos and images, insert the image URL between the tags Image after uploading them to a third party site.
ladislav
Elite Upper Class Poster

Customs and immigration trippers.

Post by ladislav »

Just arrived in Houston from Mexico City. While Mexico has no actual immigration on the way out, they do have annoying customs people who ask too many question.

As I was checking in my bag, I was approached by a customs lady who said she needed to "interview" me. "What was your purpose of visiting Mexico? How long have you been here? Where did you go? What do you do for a living? How long have you been doing it?"
Telling her I was a teacher seemed to please her. Latinos love teachers.

Then, she put a sticker onto my passport that I "have passed a security interview". WTF?

Anyway, as soon as I felt I was being left alone, I approached the boarding gate with my boarding pass. You're supposed to scan your pass on one of those machines that would read your info and you would be let on the plane. After I scanned it, a big red light flashed back from the machine. They motioned me to step aside and then led me into a section nearby with an inspection table and a machine that looked like one of those cardiac readers. " You've been flagged!" they told me. Flagged for what? "Show me the palms of your hands". OK. The customs guy passed a strip of paper over them and put them inside the machine for reading. Then, he did the same with my pants and then, my bag: wipe them with the strips and feed them into the machine. Then, he had me sit down and take off my shoes. He bent them every which way and then, finally gave them back to me and sent me on my merry way.

I asked them what it was all about and he said they were looking for people who'd been dealing with explosives or gun powder. And I fit the bill?