Japan - Domestic Violence on Males/Men - #pinkelephant

Discuss culture, living, traveling, relocating, dating or anything related to the Asian countries - China, The Philippines, Thailand, etc.
E Irizarry R&B Singer
Elite Upper Class Poster

Japan - Domestic Violence on Males/Men - #pinkelephant

Post by E Irizarry R&B Singer »

Nobita really tackles some serious issues in Japan and the U.S. of Gay. He got sh.it for talking candidly on Black American issues, and this guy is a self-taught English-speaker. For him to take on such social commentary foreign to him, I have to respect him for that.

Here's the video on DV in JP that he has hashed on:
Yohan
Elite Upper Class Poster

Re: Japan - Domestic Violence on Males/Men - #pinkelephant

Post by Yohan »

Japan is not violence free. However Japan is very crime-low against outsiders. People who have their disputes are doing this among themselves, know each other before. Japanese people rarely attack unknown people who have nothing to do with them.

Nothing really new about that. There is some data about domestic violence against women, but also against men in Japan I have to look them up again.- Generally as far as I remember, it was about 2/3 men violent against women and 1/3 women violent against men.
Many cases were counted twice, as both were violent against each other. Alcohol and debts play a major role.

However in Japan domestic violence is not really such a feminist issue. As long as there is no reason like serious injuries, police will not interfere much, sometimes asking the man to spend one night in a cheap hotel or asking the wife to stay a few days with one of her girlfriends or so.

Also it should be noticed that in domestic violence disputes in Japan, children are rarely mistreated in disputes between man and wife.
Contrarian Expatriate
Elite Upper Class Poster

Post by Contrarian Expatriate »

E Irizarry R&B Singer wrote:
June 21st, 2019, 6:47 pm