Offering Advice on Investing

Discuss issues related to business, finance, taxes, investments, cost of living in different countries, etc.
LarryLaffer
Freshman Poster

Offering Advice on Investing

Post by LarryLaffer »

Hi Everyone,

This is not a request for advice but an offering of advice on investing to give back to the forum.

DISCLAIMER: Please note that I am not a finance professional. These are just my thoughts on investing. Don't act on this advice without asking a real finance professional. So don't sue me if this doesn't work!

I've spent considerable time thinking about how to invest my money and have come to the following conclusions:

1. The Efficient Market Hypothesis - which in layman's terms states "you get what you pay for" when it comes to investing is a good general rule but has a few important exceptions. There are 3 situations where mispricing can frequently occur. Those are:

a. Speculative Mania Overpricing - This is when excessive enthusiasm about an investment causes that investment to become wildly overpriced.

b. Hidden Problem Overpricing - I've noticed that sometimes, stocks or other investments can be overpriced even in the absence of a speculative mania because of a phenomenon I call "Hidden Problem Overpricing". This is when some market participants fail to realize that a stock or other investment has a hidden problem and therefore continue to trade it at above its intrinsic value even in the absence of excess enthusiasm.

c. Collectibles and Thinly Traded Investments - These investments can sometimes be inefficiently priced simply because very few people may be aware of them. A publicly traded large capitalization stock will usually be efficiently priced in the absence of a mania or a hidden problem. But if you became an expert at investing in a particular type of collectible then you might be able to realize high returns because these investments might be under-priced.

______