SWEDEN (Country Information Thread)

Discuss culture, living, traveling, relocating, dating or anything related to the European Countries.
gravity25x
Freshman Poster

SWEDEN (Country Information Thread)

Post by gravity25x »

I originally wrote this in response to starchild's question about how Sweden was for single guys, how it was to live there in general, etc. I thought I would repost it here to so that anyone that is considering it can get an accurate view of the country:

For reference: I'm half Swedish, I was born in the US but I got a Swedish passport as a baby (my parent's registered my birth at the embassy and I got it without any work/effort). I've spent several years there, and experienced the ups and downs. I won't bother changing the grammar in the text below (to point it towards the reader, instead of specifically to starchild). If you want the information you can still get it. The text below is specifically about living in Stockholm, but most of it applies to all of Sweden.

If you have any other questions feel free to respond this thread and I'll try to answer them if I can.

1. It's almost impossible to find an apartment. The government is stupid and limits the amount landlords can charge for their apartment (rent control). (The current amount is 4% of the value of the apartment charged in rent per year, whereas the average return on property in non-rent-controlled areas of the US is 11%) This results in rich people simply not building apartment complexes, because there is no profit in doing so. So it doesn't really matter how much you pay, you won't find one.

You could buy (I wouldn't recommend it, Swedish real estate is REALLY overpriced, and a crash is coming soon).

Or (really your only option)