Feminism might have been a good thing if practiced right.

Discuss and talk about any general topic.
Temprano26
Freshman Poster

Feminism might have been a good thing if practiced right.

Post by Temprano26 »

I was raised by a single mother and I believe women should have the opportunity to do whatever men do. They should get paid the same wages but if they want let them fight on the frontlines in combat, take care of the garbage, fight fires (fireladies?).

I am all about equality but that extends to men as well. A man should not be treated like a dog just because he makes eye contact with a woman. A man should not be subjected to false rape charges because a woman regrets sleeping with him for one night. And as a massage therapist, I should not be subjected to false claims of sexual harassment in the workplace just because a woman wants to feel powerful.

I am pretty liberal but I have to admit when our ideologies have led to a population of bitchy women that think they have been victimized their whole lives, it has gone too far. Political correctness might have been a good idea too but it has led to a population of oversensitive people protesting whenever somebody says something "racist".

Moderation, people. That is all I am saying.
S_Parc
Veteran Poster

Re: Feminism might have been a good thing if practiced right

Post by S_Parc »

Temprano26 wrote:They should get paid the same wages
On this point, when adjusted for actual hours worked, as well as the position within a company, the gender wage gap is a myth. The so-called 77 cents on the dollar is an aggregation of all women working and all men working.

http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB1 ... 2909957472